IEEE Communication Theory Workshop
26-29 May 2019 // Selfoss, Iceland


Sunday, May 26

18.30 Welcome reception

Monday, May 27

09:00 – 10:00 Keynote 1 — 5G for Industry 4.0 – Are we there yet?
Andreas Mueller (Bosch and 5G-ACIA)
10:00 – 10:30 Coffee
10:30 – 12:10 Session 1 — Social Networks and Information Systems
Organizer: Anna Scaglione (Arizona State University)
Speaker 1: Negar Kiyavash (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Title: “Causal dynamics in social networks”
Speaker 2: Michael Devetsikiotis (The University of New Mexico)
Title: “A Smarter and Safer Infrastructure: Cyber-Physical Interactions and Resource Orchestration Meet the Blockchain”
Speaker 3: Mike Rabbat (Facebook)
Title: “Decentralized Deep Learning with Stochastic Gradient Push”
Speaker 4: Anna Scaglione (Arizona State University)
Title: “Opinion dynamics under attack: polarization and the influence of zealots”
12:10 – 13:00 Lunch
13:00 – 13:30 Elza Erkip, winner of the CTTC Technical Achievement Award
Title: “A communication theorist’s perspective on graph matching”
13:30 – 15:00 Poster session (regular posters) & coffee
Organizers: Nuria González Prelcic (The University of Texas at Austin) and Luca Sanguinetti (University of Pisa)
More information here
15:00 – 16:15 Session 2 — Resilience for Network Attacks
Organizer: Bruno Sinopoli (Washington University in St. Louis)
Speaker 1: Giulia Fanti (Carnegie Mellon University)
Title: “Privacy-Utility Tradeoffs for Routing Cryptocurrency in Payment Channel Networks”
Speaker 2: Massimo Franceschetti (University of California San Diego)
Title: “Detection and Authentication of Cyber-Physical Systems under Learning-Based Attacks”
Speaker 3: Bruno Sinopoli (Washington University in St. Louis)
Title: “Cyber-Physical Systems: From Detection to Resilience”
16:15 – 16:45 Coffee
16:45 – 18:15 Panel 1 — Machine Learning: Salvation or Illusion?
Organizers: Shuguang Cui (University of California, Davis) and Sudharman Jayaweera (University of New Mexico)
Panelist 1: Keith Chugg (University of Southern California)
Panelist 2: Andrea Goldsmith (Stanford University)
Panelist 3: Tara Javidi (University of California San Diego)
Panelist 4: Slawomir Stanczak (Technische Universität Berlin)
19:30 – 21:00 Optional dinner

Tuesday, May 28

08:30 – 09:30 Keynote 2 — Looking anew at what we thought we knew
Muriel Médard (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
09:30 – 10:00 Coffee
10:00 – 12:00 Session 3 — Communications in the Real World: Theory & Experiments
Organizer: Howard Huang (Nokia Bell Labs)
Speaker 1: Florian Kaltenberger (Eurecom)
Title: “Experimental evaluation of reciprocity calibration for distributed massive MIMO systems”
Speaker 2: Ashu Sabharwal (Rice University)
Title: “POWDER-RENEW: A software-defined massive MIMO community testbed”
Speaker 3: Ivan Seskar (Rutgers University)
Title: “The 15-year journey of an open-access wireless experimentation platform”
Speaker 4: Howard Huang (Nokia Bell Labs)
Title: “Bell Labs Synchronous Network for Time-Based Localization”
Speaker 5: Matt Reynolds (University of Washington)
Title: “Computational Imaging with Millimeter Waves”
12:00 – 13:00 Lunch
13:00 – 13:45 Data bakeoff poster session & coffee
Organizers: Erik G. Larsson (Linköping University) and Urbashi Mitra (University of Southern California)
More information here
13:45 – 15:15 Panel 2: Emerging IoT Applications That Will Drive 6G and New Communication Theory Problems
Organizer: Jeff Andrews (The University of Texas at Austin)
Panelist 1: Joachim Sachs (Ericsson)
Panelist 2: Gerhard Fettweis (Technische Universität Dresden)
Panelist 3: Carmela Cozzo (Huawei)
Panelist 4: Erik Ström (Chalmers University of Technology)
15:15 – 15:45 Coffee
15:45 – 17:25 Session 4 — Communication Theory Core Topics
Organizer: Wei Yu (University of Toronto)
Speaker 1: Giuseppe Caire (Technical University of Berlin)
Title: “Activity Detection, Large-Scale Pathloss Estimation, and Massive Random Access with Massive MIMO Receivers”
Speaker 2: Harish Viswanathan (Nokia Bell Labs)
Title: “Adaptive Network-Device Cooperative Diversity for Ultra-Reliable Low-Latency Wireless Communications”
Speaker 3: Yonina Eldar (Weizmann institute of Science)
Title: “Hardware limited Task-Based Quantization”
Speaker 4: Mingyi Hong (University of Minnesota)
Title: “Hybrid Block Successive Approximation for Non-Convex Min-Max Problems: Algorithms and Applications in Communications Networking”
17:45 – 23:30 Bus trip and dinner at the Blue Lagoon
Return bus departure: 22:30

Wednesday, May 29

08:30 – 09:30 Keynote 3 — Foundational Aspects of Blockchain Protocols
Juan Garay (Texas A&M University)
09:30 – 10:00 Ayfer Özgur, winner of the CTTC Early Achievement Award
Title: “Distributed Learning under Communication Constraints”
10:00 – 10:30 Coffee
10:30 – 12:10 Session 5 — Unconventional Communication: Emerging Modalities
Organizer: Maite Brandt-Pearce (University of Virginia)
Speaker 1: Milica Stojanovic (Northeastern University)
Title: “Multicarrier communications in Doppler-limited regimes”
Speaker 2: Zhengyuan Daniel Xu (University of Science and Technology of China)
Title: “Optical Scattering Communications”
Speaker 3: Chan-Byoung Chae (Yonsei University)
Title: “Human implantable nano-scale communications”
Speaker 4: Maite Brandt-Pearce (University of Virginia)
Title: “Visible light communications”
12:10 – 13:00 Lunch